New IU Bloomington Arts and Humanities Council to convene today

  • April 27, 2015


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University Bloomington professor of English Ed Comentale, the newly appointed associate vice provost for arts and humanities, will convene an Arts and Humanities Council today.

The council was suggested by faculty on the Arts and Humanities Committee during the campus strategic planning process of the 2013-14 academic year. The committee’s recommendations now compose the related portions of the Bicentennial Strategic Plan for IU Bloomington.

The purpose of the Arts and Humanities Council is to consider ways to implement the arts and humanities portions of the plan, which in part outline ideas for increasing student engagement with arts and cultural institutions across campus, establishing more collaborative, interdisciplinary research projects and expanding public outreach programs.

“This is a great moment for the arts and humanities at IU,” Comentale said. “They’ve been the heart and soul of our campus for nearly 200 years, and our council will expand their influence for the new century. We’re creating new connections among professors, students and our many cultural resources, through new programming and a new research laboratory for team-based interdisciplinary projects.”

“Dating back to the time of our founding, IU Bloomington has been a bastion for research, education and creative activity in the arts and humanities,” said Lauren Robel, provost and executive vice president. “The Arts and Humanities Council reaffirms our commitment to the transformative power of the arts and humanities in higher education. The council members are among our brightest and most innovative faculty, and the entire campus looks forward to the exciting ideas they will generate together.”

The council is composed of faculty and staff from a variety of schools, venues and departments across campus and also includes several members who served on the arts and humanities strategic planning team.

Arts and Humanities Council members, 2015-16:

  • Jeremy Allen, Jacobs School of Music
  • Alain Barker, Jacobs School of Music
  • Andrea Ciccarelli, Hutton Honors College, Department of French and Italian, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Angela Courtney, IU Libraries
  • Ed Comentale, Office of the Vice Provost for Research, Department of English, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jonathan Elmer, College Arts and Humanities Institute, Department of English, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Gary Dunham, IU Press and Digital Publishing
  • Justin Garcia, Department of Gender Studies, College of Arts and Sciences, Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender and Reproduction
  • Ilana Gershon, Department of Anthropology, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jason Baird Jackson, Mathers Museum of World Cultures, Department of Folklore and Ethnomusicology, College of Arts and Sciences
  • John Lucaites, associate dean for arts and humanities, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jonathan R. Michaelsen, Department of Theatre, Drama and Contemporary Dance, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Marissa Moorman, Department of History, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Walton Muyumba, Department of English, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Patrick Petro, IU Art Museum
  • Kylie Peppler, Center for Research on Learning and Technology, School of Education
  • Bret Rothstein, Department of Art History, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Joel Silver, Lilly Library
  • Betsy Stirratt, Grunwald Gallery
  • Maria Talbert, IU Auditorium
  • Jon Vickers, IU Cinema
  • Joanne Woronkowicz, SPEA
  • John Walsh, Media School, College of Arts and Sciences
  • John A. Walsh, School of Informatics and Computing
  • Caleb Weintraub, Henry Radford Hope School of Fine Arts, College of Arts and Sciences

Media Contacts

Jennifer Piurek

  • Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President
  • Office 812-856-4886