IU Bloomington hosting 21 Fulbright educators from 10 countries

  • Sept. 13, 2016


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Twenty-one teachers from 10 countries around the world are living this semester in Bloomington. They are observing classes and completing research projects as scholars in the Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching Program hosted by the Center for International Education, Development and Research at the IU School of Education.

The center is hosting the Fulbright education program for the third year in a row, and IU is the only college or university in the country to host scholars in the program. This year’s class is larger than last year’s by four students.

The Fulbright scholars will work with teachers at Bloomington High School North, Arlington Heights Elementary School and University Elementary School. They will audit IU classes, participate in a weekly specialized seminar and complete an inquiry project of their choosing related to K-12 education. Each will also meet individually with a School of Education faculty member.

Fulbright scholars, their home countries and their projects are:

  • Gaone Moloi, Botswana -- “Making English Learning Fun and Easy With Computers”
  • Keitumetse Thobani, Botswana -- “Enhancing the Quality of Learning Through Differentiated Learning”
  • Maija Heikkilä, Finland -- “Introducing History, Language and Culture of the USA in Finnish High School”
  • Sari Soininen, Finland -- “Historical Thinking, Multiliteracy and the Use of Primary Sources in History Teaching and Learning”
  • Marina Basu, India -- “Strategies for Math Learning for First-Generation ESL Learners”
  • Pratiksha Chopra, India -- “Development of Literacy and Contexuality in Second Language Learners: a Handbook for Indian Teachers”
  • Nourit Ben David Erez, Israel -- “Web-Based ESL Course for Students With Learning Difficulties”
  • Edgar Samuel Arriaga Juárez, Mexico -- “Learn English and Math Online in a Friendly Environment”
  • Karina Martinez Perez, Mexico -- “Teaching Intercultural Competences in the Language Classroom by Using Information and Communications Technology”
  • Diana Zamudio Troncoso, Mexico -- “Let’s Connect Our Classroom to the World”
  • Hanane Chahidi, Morocco -- “To What Extent Does Our Approach to Language Teaching Lead to an Effective Communication”
  • Khalid El Motassadeq, Morocco -- “Strategies of Addressing Learners’ Misconduct and Their Instructional and Psychological Outcomes”
  • Sarah Kennedy, New Zealand -- “Which Key Elements of Leadership Most Influence a Successful Transition Process”
  • Simon McMillan, New Zealand -- “Strategies for Explicit Teaching and Evaluation of Metacognition for Diverse Learners in E-Science”
  • Haya Abu Hussein, Palestinian Territories -- “Student-Based Assessment an Effective Strategy to Improve Teaching Practices”
  • Hasnaa AbuMezied, Palestinian Territories -- “Engaging English Learners Through Using Interactive Methods in Teaching English”
  • Muhammad Nazir Amir, Singapore -- “Exploring How Academically At-Risk Students in Singapore Can Benefit From STEAM Approaches”
  • Peiwen Lim, Singapore -- “Building a Pro-Environmental School Culture and Developing Green Identity in Students”
  • Lay Kheng Ong, Singapore -- “Implementing Inquiry-Based Learning in the Secondary Geography Classroom”
  • Wei-Feng Peng, Taiwan -- “Science Makers, We Are Creators”
  • Jhenyi Wu, Taiwan -- “Learning in Wonderland Scenario-Based Learning Design Templates for Small-Scale Intensive Lessons”

The Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching Program recognizes and encourages excellence in teaching in the U.S. and abroad and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries. The program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, and is administered by the Institute of International Education.

Related Links

Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching recipients at a welcome dinner at IU Bloomington.

Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching recipients at a welcome dinner at IU Bloomington.

Print-Quality Photo

Media Contacts

Catherine Hageman

Communications manager

  • School of Education
  • Office 812-856-8585
  • chageman@indiana.edu