IU Maurer School of Law honors five outstanding faculty with teaching awards

  • April 12, 2016


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Five Indiana University Maurer School of Law faculty members were honored for exceptional instruction during a ceremony April 11 at Baier Hall.

Professor Daniel O. Conkle was presented the Leon H. Wallace Teaching Award, the highest honor the school bestows on an instructor, for the second time in an illustrious career at the law school that dates back to 1983. Professor Charles Geyh, associate professor Gina-Gail S. Fletcher and clinical professor Amy G. Applegate were all awarded Trustees’ Teaching Awards, and Tim Morrison was presented with the Adjunct Teaching Award.

“We are fortunate to have an exceptionally energized and dedicated faculty who are not only tremendous scholars but also care deeply about their students,” said Austen L. Parrish, dean and James H. Rudy Professor of Law. “Providing a well-rounded legal education to the nation’s future leaders is a critical part of the law school’s mission, and I am grateful that our faculty are committed to ensuring that our students have an exceptional experience.

"Whether it’s an innovative approach to teaching a traditional subject or devoting countless hours outside of the classroom, our faculty members set a standard of excellence and dedication we deeply appreciate. We are indebted to faculty like Dan, Charlie, Gina-Gail, Amy and Tim for their efforts in shaping the next generation of great legal minds.”

About the recipients:

Daniel O. Conkle teaches constitutional law, the First Amendment, and law and religion. He is a prior recipient of the Leon H. Wallace Teaching Award and has twice won the Gavel Award for outstanding contribution to the graduating class. He has received six faculty fellowships for outstanding scholarship, and he was named the Robert H. McKinney Professor of Law in 1999.

Gina-Gail S. Fletcher joined the law school faculty in 2014. Her research lies at the intersection of corporate law and governance, corporate finance, financial markets and financial regulation, with particular focus on the roles of public regulation and private ordering in enhancing market stability and corporate organization.

Charles Geyh is also a recipient of the Leon Wallace Teaching Award and a two-time recipient of the IU Trustees' Teaching Award. Geyh has taught courses on civil procedure, legal ethics, federal courts, judicial conduct, and the relationship between courts and legislatures. He is the John F. Kimberling Professor of Law.

Amy G. Applegate was a 2012 recipient of an Indiana University Trustees' Teaching Award, and she directs the Viola J. Taliaferro Family and Children Mediation Clinic at the law school. She teaches the school's mediation theory and practice courses, guiding students to become registered domestic relations mediators in Indiana.

Tim Morrison teaches criminal law and criminal process courses. He retired from the U.S. Attorney’s Office in Indianapolis in 2011 after 23 years of service. 

Related Links

From left: Austen L. Parrish, Hannah Dill, Katie Thrapp, Amy G. Applegate, Sam Hofmeier, Gina-Gail Fletcher, Charles Geyh, Tim Morrison and Dan Conkle

From left: Dean Austen L. Parrish, Hannah Dill, Katie Thrapp, Amy G. Applegate, Sam Hofmeier, Gina-Gail Fletcher, Charles Geyh, Tim Morrison and Dan Conkle. Dill, Thrapp and Hofmeier are Student Bar Association representatives who helped select the teaching award winners.

Print-Quality Photo

Media Contacts

James Boyd

  • IU Maurer School of Law
  • Office 812-855-0156
  • joboyd@indiana.edu

Ken Turchi

  • IU Maurer School of Law
  • Office 812-856-4044
  • Cell 317-513-0321
  • kturchi@indiana.edu