Outstanding IU Bloomington undergraduate students recognized with awards, honors

  • May 5, 2015


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University Bloomington recognized students for exceptional achievement during the annual Founders Day Honors Convocation, one of the traditional activities that mark the celebration of IU's founding in 1820.

Several dozen students were accorded special recognition during the event for receiving university awards for scholarship, leadership and service and for earning nationally competitive scholarships and honors. Also honored were approximately 4,100 Founders Scholars, the campus's most academically distinguished undergraduates, who have earned a cumulative grade-point average of 3.8 or higher.

Founders Scholars receive a formal letter of commendation signed by Provost and Executive Vice President Lauren Robel, who presided over this year’s Honors Convocation on April 12 at Alumni Hall. An archived video of Honors Convocation is available online.

Senior Wells Scholar Emma Winkler, a Barry Goldwater Scholar, was the student speaker at the event. The evening before, Winkler received the Herman B Wells Senior Recognition Award at the annual Wells banquet.

Winkler will graduate May 9 with majors in microbiology and biochemistry and a minor in Spanish, all in the College of Arts and Sciences. During her time at IU, Winkler has worked with IU Global Brigades; served as president of Public Health Brigades; worked in Santiago, Chile, where she examined the Chilean health care system; and conducted research in the lab of professor Cheng Kao.

She also served as captain of the IU Women’s Club Soccer team and has been active in coaching youth soccer in the Bloomington community. In the fall, Winkler will attend the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis as part of the Medical Scientist Training Program in order to pursue both her M.D. and Ph.D.

Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Awards

The Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Award was established in 1966 to recognize IU seniors who have excelled academically while also serving as active campus and community leaders.

Recipients and their majors are: Amyra Asamoah, economics and communication and culture; Rachel Green, sociology and economics; Victoria Hicks, international studies; Christine White, political science, economics and Spanish; and Molly Zweig, international studies and Spanish and Portuguese.

Kate Hevner Mueller Outstanding Senior Awards

The Mueller Awards recognize students who have left the campus better than they found it by helping other students learn more about themselves, each other and the world outside the classroom.

Recipients and their majors are: Radhika Agarwal, biology and biochemistry; Alexander Elias, chemistry; Katy Flanigan, economics and psychology; Mara Gonzalez Souto, political science, psychology and French; Shelby Gullion, English and international studies; Jonathan Hawkins, mathematics, economics and computer science; Patrick Hernandez, international studies; Robert Hsu, communication and culture; Catherine Krege, international studies and Spanish; Anu Kumar, journalism, international studies and French; Leslie Lundewall, biology and neuroscience; Grant Manon, finance, economic consulting and business analytics; Savannah Meslin, French and linguistics; Mark Murphy, informatics; Elizabeth Nixon, international studies; Lexy Parrill, history and English; Josh Roberts, jazz percussion; Dia Sharma, journalism; and Allison Winstel, public affairs.

Provost's Awards for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity

Six students received the Provost’s Award for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity on April 23. The award recognizes outstanding undergraduate achievement and originality as well as the faculty members who served as mentors.

Recipients and their majors are: Radhika Agarwal, biochemistry and biology; Rachel Cooper and Neil Craney, nursing; Ryan Galloway, dance; Jordan Goodmon, vocal performance; and Gabrielle Malina, political science and Spanish.

Students recognized for winning competitive national awards and scholarships in 2014-15, along with their majors, include:

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship -- David Burke, chemistry and jazz trumpet; Thomas J. Dauer, mathematics and physics; and Joshua W. Foster, physics and mathematics.

Critical Language Scholarship -- Margarethe Louise Kessler McDonald, linguistics; Caroline Elise Stokes, Central Eurasian Studies and international studies.

Fulbright Scholarship -- Aldar Escamilla Mijes, Fulbright Japan, political science; Kalah Gallapoo, Fulbright Germany, Germanic studies; Megan Harsh, Fulbright Mexico, anthropology and Spanish; Martha Sliva, Fulbright Germany, organ and informatics .

Gilman Scholarship -- Collin Hickey, public and environmental affairs, health care management and policy; Melanie Wolfe, social work and human development/family studies.

Mitchell Scholarship -- Rachel Elisabeth Green, economics and sociology.

Truman Scholarship -- Christine Marie White, political science, economics and Spanish.

National College Media Convention Reporter and News Story of the Year Awards -- Mary Jessica Contrera, journalism

Related Links

Media Contacts

Jennifer Piurek

  • Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President
  • Office 812-856-4886
  • jpiurek@iu.edu