Campus Catalyst Awards recognize sustainability efforts at IU Bloomington

  • Nov. 14, 2014


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Three faculty members, a student and an information technology team are the winners of the third annual Campus Catalyst Awards, which recognize outstanding contributions to campus sustainability at Indiana University Bloomington.

The awards, sponsored by the IU Bloomington Office of Sustainability, were presented this week at the University Club in the Indiana Memorial Union. Honorees are faculty members Peter Todd, Richard Wilk and Shahzeen Attari; student Angela Babb; and the Auxiliary Information Technology Team from IU Facilities.

Todd, Provost Professor in the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, and Wilk, Provost Professor in the Department of Anthropology, received the Excellence in Leadership Award for creation and leadership of the IU Bloomington Food Studies Program and for championing the current College of Arts and Sciences Themester: “Eat, Drink, Think.”

“Professors Wilk and Todd have demonstrated admirable collaborative leadership, bridging departments and contributing to interdisciplinary dialogue and study,” said Andrew Predmore, associate director of the Office of Sustainability.

Attari, assistant professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs, received the Excellence in Teaching Award -- fittingly, after being nominated by a student in one of her courses.

“Dr. Attari sets an outstanding example for what excellence in teaching and sustainability leadership represent,” said Kristin Brethova, assistant director of the IU Office of Sustainability. “While her rigorous, discussion-based course gives students hope that individual actions do have the potential to influence the health of our planet and our social and economic systems for the better, it also challenges students to reach deeper, demonstrating the psychological and structural barriers to foster widespread shifts toward sustainability.”

Angela Babb was the winner of this year’s Excellence in Student Leadership Award. Pursuing her Ph.D. in geography, and serving as the food planning and implementation intern at the Office of Sustainability, Babb revived the efforts of the Food Working Group. During her time at IU, she has planned and implemented three food summits and the “Big Red Eats Green” sustainable and local food fair. She is also responsible for incorporating the Real Food Challenge into the Food Working Group’s strategic plan.

The Auxiliary Information Technology Team received this year’s Excellence in Team Leadership Award. The team was recognized for its development of the Energy Matters application, which allows students to monitor their own energy use on campus, while raising awareness about how individual behaviors impact energy consumption.

Award recipients were chosen based on a set of criteria established in 2011 by the Campus Sustainability Advisory Board.

Related Links

Campus Catalyst Award winners

Campus Catalyst Award winners are, from left, Peter Todd; Richard Wilk; Angela Babb; Tim Lewis, Carol Lewis and Boby Joseph of the Auxiliary Information Technology Team; and Shahzeen Attari.

Print-Quality Photo

Media Contacts

Nancy Lethem

Project coordinator

  • Office of Sustainability
  • Office 812-855-3730